The Nightmare of a Memory


Serving the darkness they found themselves trapped into sacrificing their own sons, their own daughters to demons.

Fear wove intricate designs within the lovely sounds of Father Peter’s pleas to the Great One in that place between waking and sleeping. I wished to stay in the realm of the conscious, but had not the strength.

The vividness of my dreams always surprised, excited, but more often horrified me. While I still had control, I prayed with Father Peter, but then as I knew they would dreams became my reality.

The full moon shone brightly on the uneven ground as I walked along kicking small pebbles on the well used path. The warm night breeze caressed my heightened senses, and I realized that I was drunk. My hands tingled, my head felt light, and I smiled into the darkness at nothing. I was thinking of my Niklav, calloused hands blazing trails along my soft skin. The memory seemed so familiar. Of course it would, I thought. I think of my glorious lover all the time. It was more than that though.

Breathing deeply, I smiled at the smell of moist air and fish. There must be a lake nearby.

“No!” I breathed after I froze on the dirt path. “Please Great One not this place!”

I scanned the area instantly sober. A massive lodge cast menacing shadows too close to me. I heard people afar off, laughing, singing, and celebrating. Light green and brown, my dress hugged the ground, and my heart began to race as I looked it over. Aija, my sister, had made the dress for me. I had not seen it for years. Not since the night it was destroyed.

He lurked in the darkness, but I saw him. I turned. I ran. I could feel his breath on the nape of my neck, the tips of his toes on my heels. Frantically, I moved, stumbling in the darkness. My tears created puddles, barring me.

The ground seemed unnaturally hard when I hit. I scratched and clawed trying to pull away from him, but I heard my dress tear as he yanked me toward him. I screamed for Niklav, but in my fear I had run far from his ears! I cried and screamed as Mikhail rolled me over. My nails dug into the skin on his face ripping it away and infuriating him. His fist hit hard and my eyes went black for a moment, ringing in my ears.

“No, please Mikhail!”

“I have waited so long for this,” Mikhail said the lust burning in his eyes.

“Mikhail, please,” I cried. Swinging my arms and kicking him in the genitals I earned another hard punch in the face. I tasted blood. Through blurry eyes, I watched as Mikhail’s eyes turned that glossy black I had grown to fear.

The blackness in his eyes made me angry not afraid, but the more I kicked and screamed the more excited Mikhail became. His eyes returned to their nasty green, and I actually wished for the blackness. The green of Mikhail’s eyes made me vomit. I hoped the chunks of food I had spewed on him would be a discouragement, but they were not.

17 Responses to “The Nightmare of a Memory”

  1. Rivetting! When can I read more? i have so many questions, and the passage made me NEED to know more! I love love love it!

  2. This is awesome, can’t wait for the finished work!!!!!!!!

  3. This is amazing! Not only does it give me the feel of a romance novel, which I love, it gives me the feeling of an action movie; the two different types of action and romance is exhilarating. I would love to read the whole story.

  4. linda bloomfield Says:

    Wow!!! That is amazing!! Like I am really scared! I want to know more!! Hurry! hurry! hurry! I would buy the book tomorrow!!! Love ya lots!

  5. Cheryl Stone Says:

    Exceptional !! A good writer will draw you in right away and keep you in suspence creating the feeling – that you are in the story. And you did just that. I am so excited for you. This is awesome. I expect to see you in the front row at Barnes and Noble.

  6. Jennifer Millar Says:

    Wow! That was amazing! I really want to read the book. It sounds really interesting. I love romances and it had such wonderful descriptions. I liked how you kept my interest which is hard to do!

  7. juda willson Says:

    forget romance and action, fantasyis where its at. If the rest is as good as that, itll b a winner for sure. Im so excited i cant wait to read it. Ha i know this person!

  8. Would love to read more can not wait! It’s really interesting.

  9. I did not know you had been writing novels!!!! AHHH A women after my own heart=) I was a bit confused in the beginning but by the end of the passage I was completely hooked. It was great and I can’t wait to read more.

  10. JOAN MILLAR Says:

    Captured my interest immediately. Anxious to read more.

  11. sharon naomi perryman Says:

    I like this when do I read the rest? very interesting

  12. Very interesting and descriptive, I would definitely read the novel when it is complete. I am left wondering what is going to happen at this point…hurry, hurry!

  13. Thanks for the awesome feedback!

  14. I loved it! Very gripping. So proud of you, can’t wait to read more…..

  15. Very powerfully Dark!

Leave a Reply

